# PIERPONT COMMUNITY & TECHNICAL COLLEGE

# Special Meeting of the BOARD OF GOVERNORS

April 21, 2016 2:00 PM

## **MINUTES**

## **Notice of Meeting and Attendance**

A special meeting of the Pierpont Community & Technical College Board of Governors was held on April 21, 2016, beginning at 2:00 PM in the Falcon Center Board Room.

Board members present were:

Chairman Jim Griffin, Linda Aman (phone), Memori Dobbs, Kyle Hamilton, Keisha Marks, Earl McConnell, Barbara Pavel-Alvarez, Rick Pruitte, and Sharon Shaffer

Board members absent were:

Jeff Tucker and Warren 'Chip' Van Alsburg.

President's Cabinet members present were:

Cyndee Sensibaugh

#### I. Call to Order

Chairman Jim Griffin called the meeting to order at 2:00 PM in open session.

• Call for Public Comment

Chairman Griffin announced last call for public sign up for comments to the Board.

#### II. Executive Session

A. At 2:01 PM a motion was made by Sharon Shaffer that pursuant to 6-9A-4(b)2A of the WV Code that the Board shall go in to Executive Session to discuss personnel and personnel matters, which if discussed in public might adversely affect the reputation of any person. Rick Pruitte seconded the motion. All Agreed. Motion carried.

Exiting Executive Session

At 2:33 PM, a motion was made by Sharon Shaffer to exit Executive Session. The motion was seconded by Keisha Marks. All agreed. Motion carried.

Items Brought Forward from Executive Session

Meeting Minutes Page 1 of 1

There were no items brought forward from Executive Session. The Board reconvened in open session.

#### III. Committee of the Whole

- 1. President Search Committee Report
  - a. Recommendation for the Next President of Pierpont Action Item

Sharon Shaffer informed the Board that the President Search Committee met on April 19, 2016 to discuss the president finalists and to review evaluation forms. The forms were submitted by local community members, Pierpont and Fairmont State faculty, staff, and students, the Pierpont Board of Governors and the Presidential Search Committee.

The President Search Committee presented, for approval, the recommendation of Dr. Johnny M. Moore to serve as the next president of Pierpont Community & Technical College.

Barbara Alvarez offered a motion to approve Dr. Johnny M. Moore as the next president of Pierpont Community & Technical College. Kyle Hamilton seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried.

Final approval of Dr. Johnny M. Moore's selection to serve as Pierpont's next president will be considered on April 28, 2016 at the Council meeting of the WV Council for Community and Technical College Education.

Chairman Griffin thanked the committee for their work in selecting the third president of Pierpont.

## **IV. Public Comment**

No signatures were recorded for public comment.

# V. Adjournment

There being no further business, the Chairman entertained a motion to adjourn. Rick Pruitte offered a motion to adjourn the Board meeting. Sharon Shaffer seconded the motion. All agreed. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 2:37 PM.

Respectfully submitted by Cyndee K. Sensibaugh

Meeting Minutes Page 2 of 2