PIERPONT COMMUNITY & TECHNICAL COLLEGE BOARD OF GOVERNORS MEETING May 17, 2011 2:00 PM

MINUTES

Call to Order

A meeting of the Pierpont Community & Technical College Board of Governors was held on May 17, 2011, beginning at 2:00 PM in the Falcon Center Board Room. Present at the meeting were Board members: Chairman James Griffin, Dixie Copley, Beverly Jones, Earl McConnell, Rick Pruitte, Sharon Shaffer, Tom Stose, and Eugene Weaver. Present by phone was Board member: Jeff Tucker. Also present were: President Doreen Larson, and Cyndee Sensibaugh. Absent were Board members: Linda Aman, Kyle Hamilton, and CassAndrew Kelly.

Last Call for Public Sign Up

Chairman Griffin announced last call for public sign up for comments to the Board.

Approval of Minutes

Dixie Copley moved that the Minutes of April 19, 2011 Board of Governors Meeting be approved. Tom Stose seconded the motion. All agreed and motion carried.

Special Recognitions

President Larson recognized and congratulated the Board members Earl McConnell and Sharon Shaffer for the exceptional job they did in representing Pierpont at the Spring 2011 Commencement. Mr. McConnell was the keynote speaker and gave a very good speech that provided a wealth of wisdom to the students. Mrs. Shaffer offered greetings on behalf of the BOG.

Dr. Larson also recognized faculty members Dean Jerry Bacza, Jayvijay V. Raol, and John Chris Toothman for receiving the 2011 NISOD Excellence Award. Recipients of this prestigious award are selected from over 700 community colleges and universities to recognize outstanding contributions to teaching, leadership, and learning.

Dr. Larson welcomed and introduced Mrs. Cynthia Curry, AVP of Human Resources, to the Board. Mrs. Curry joins FSU/Pierpont from WVU where she served as the Director of Classification, Compensation, and Benefits for all of its 7,000+ employees.

President's Report

Dr. Larson began her report by thanking Chairman Griffin and the Board members for their support as she is recuperating from a serious fall that occurred on April 28th at the Falcon Center. The fall caused her to break her arm and shoulder and required immediate surgery. She is in physical therapy and is recovering ahead of schedule and has returned to work.

During her brief absence, Pierpont was represented very well by Dale Bradley, who stepped into the leadership role.

Pierpont's spring commencement was held at the Feaster Center on May 13th, and Dr. Larson once again thanked Sharon Shaffer for bringing greetings on behalf of the Board and Earl McConnell for providing the keynote address. Dr. Larson and her husband, Len, also attended the spring commencement for Fairmont State on May 14th and Mr. Frank Pulice, Jr. was its keynote speaker.

Work has begun on the fire suppression system at the aerospace center. Classroom construction and HVAC upgrades are also underway at the center. Additional classroom equipment and HVAC units were made possible by unused ARRA funds, as the delivered bid was under estimated costs.

The Math/Writing Center projects have been successful and the program will continue after the funding expires in September 2011. Fairmont State has agreed to share in the expenses, recognizing the valuable student-retention impact the center has.

As part of Pierpont's continuing evolution as an independent institution, it will establish an Office of Community Engagement. The purpose of this office, led by Sarah Hensley in the role of Vice President, will be to engage the community and partners, friend-raising, fundraising, and reaching out into our 13 county service region. The office will take more direct control of Pierpont's web site and will develop a "Friends of Pierpont" network. We will continue to partner with the Foundation, continue to identify and reach out to Pierpont alumni and other partners, and continue to develop scholarships for our students. Pierpont will no longer work through FSU's Office of Institutional Advancement. An organization and staffing proposal will be presented to the Board for approval at the June meeting.

In closing, Dr. Larson told the Board that Pierpont is working to fulfill the state law and accrediting commission mandate that requires Pierpont to operate as a stand-alone independent institution. While maintaining the unique aspects of the relationship with FSU, Pierpont is analyzing the costs and savings of shared services.

Operation Reports

- Brian Floyd presented the Faculty Assembly Report
- > Nancy Lawler presented the Advisory Council of Faculty Report

- > Mary Jo Rutherford presented the Classified Staff Report
- Leslie Lovett presented the Academic Affairs Report
- > Paul Schreffler presented the Center for Workforce Education Report

Committee of the Whole

Financial Report

Dale Bradley provided the report on the Pierpont Community & Technical College Unrestricted and Restricted Funds and Fund Manager Budgets for current budget and year-to-date actual.

Capital Projects Report

Jim Decker provided a summary report for the FY 2011 Capital Projects Completion Status.

- Program Review
 - Mrs. L. Lovett provided an Executive Summary for Program Review for the AAS Homeland Security Program and the AAS Food Service Management Program. The programs have been reviewed by their advisory committee, program faculty, Dean of Human Services, Vice President of Academic Affairs, and the President. All agree that the programs are of quality, growth, and are needed by the citizens and industry of north central WV. Based on the data gathered, it was recommended that the programs be continued at their current levels of activity. A motion to continue the AAS Homeland Security Program and the AAS Food Service Management Program was presented by Dixie Copley and seconded by Sharon Shaffer. Motion carried.

Committee Reports

- Finance Committee
 - No report
- > Off Campus Operations Committee
 - No report
- Marketing Committee
 - \circ No report

New Business

The Board Officer Nominating Committee members will consist of Dixie Copley, Earl McConnell and Sharon Shaffer. Dixie Copley will serve as Chairperson. The Committee will meet and present a report and recommendations to the Board at the June Board of Governors meeting.

The Presidential Evaluation Committee members will consist of Rick Pruitte, Gene Weaver, and Kyle Hamilton. Gene Weaver will serve as Chairperson. The Committee will meet and present a report and recommendations to the Board at the June Board of Governors meeting.

Announcement

The Advisory Board of the Advanced Technology Center will meet immediately following the Pierpont Board of Governors meeting.

Adjournment and Next Meeting

There being no further business the Board meeting adjourned at 3:00 PM. The next Board of Governors Meeting will be held on June 21, 2011 at 2:00 PM in the Falcon Center Board Room.