## Pierpont Community & Technical College BOARD OF GOVERNORS MINUTES May 18, 2010

## **Call to Order**

A meeting of the Pierpont Community & Technical College Board of Governors was held on April 27, 2010 beginning at 2:00 p.m. in Falcon Center Board Room. Present at the meeting were Board Members: Beverly Jones, James Griffin, Dixie Copley, Kyle Hamilton, Ryan Houser, Earl McConnell, Jeff Tucker, Rick Pruitte, Leslie Lovett, Eugene Weaver, Sharon Shaffer and Linda Aman phoned in.

Chair James Griffin called the meeting to order.

## **Approval of Minutes**

Leslie Lovett offered corrections to the minutes of April 27, 2010 meeting. Chair Jim Griffin moved the minutes of the April 27, 2010 meeting be approved as corrected. Motion carried.

### **Constituent Reports**

Tom Stose presented the Faculty Assembly Report. Mary Jo Rutherford presented the Classified Staff Report. Michael Belmear presented the Student Government. Bun Perkinson presented the Foundation Report. Devanna Corley presented the Alumni Association. Bun Perkinson presented the Athletic Association Report.

## **President's Report**

President Blair Montgomery reported on meeting with Dr. Larson. The Higher Learning Commission visit to Pierpont Community & Technical College was a success. Chair Jim Griffin expressed the board's gratitude to President Montgomery and presented him with a token of their appreciation. Chair Jim Griffin recommended to the Board of Governors that the Board of Governor's Scholarship for Pierpont Community & Technical College be renamed to the Bair and Sue Montgomery Scholarship. Dixie Copley made the motion. Earl McConnell seconded. Motion carried.

## **Finance Report**

Dale Bradley delivered the report on the Pierpont Community & Technical College Unrestricted and Restricted Funds and Fund Manager Budgets for April 19, 2010.

### 2010-2011 Board of Governors Meeting Dates

Jennifer Weist reported on the meeting dates for 2010-2011.

### **Off Campus Programs Coordinator Report**

Jeani Hawkins reported on Off Campus Programs. Off Campus North has been directed to Jeani Hawkins upon the resignation of Lyla Grandstaff. There has been increased enrollment in Randolph and Monongalia counties. Lewis and Braxton counties have remained the same.

### **Off Campus Operations Committee**

Leslie Lovett reported that they need to review the quote of Monongalia County Center facility. Jeani Hawkins will be meeting with site coordinators to determine needs. The committee plans on visiting the Braxton County facility and meeting with the principal.

### **Finance Committee**

No report.

### **Marketing Committee**

No report.

# **New Business**

## Memorandum of Understanding with Fairmont State Foundation

Gina Fantasia expressed her thanks to President Montgomery for all his years of service. A welcome was extended to President elect Dr. Larson. The Memorandum of Understanding with Fairmont State Foundation had been circulated to all board members. A motion was made by Kyle Hamilton to adopt the Memorandum of Understanding with Fairmont State Foundation as is. Dixie Copley seconded. Motion carried.

#### Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:50 p.m.