

June 14, 2022

Dr. Anthony Hancock Interim President Pierpont Community & Technical College 1201 Locust Avenue Hardway Hall, Room 201 Fairmont, WV 26554

Dear Dr. Hancock:

West Virginia Code §18B-4-7 delegates the responsibility for annual reauthorization of all degreegranting higher education institutions to the West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education (Council) and the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission. In part, the provisions of Code state the following:

"To retain the authority to confer degrees pursuant to this section, each institution shall provide annually to the commission or council, as requested, all information the commission or council considers necessary to assess the performance of the institution and determine whether the institution continues to meet the minimum standards for conferring degrees."

To fulfill its statutory responsibility, the Council adopted Series 52, *Annual Reauthorization of Degree-Granting Institutions*. The policy defines the specific documentation that is required to be submitted annually by November 1st from all degree-granting higher education institutions within the state. Upon review of this information by Council staff, institutions determined to be in compliance with generally accepted parameters of operation are recommended to the Council for reauthorization.

At its meeting on June 9, 2022, the West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education approved the reauthorization of Pierpont Community & Technical College to confer degrees within West Virginia.

If you have questions regarding the annual reauthorization process, please contact the Academic Affairs office at 304.558.0261.

Sincerely.

Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Ph.D.

Chancellor

C: Mr. Michael Waide, Provost, Pierpont Community & Technical College Dr. Randall Brumfield, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Council Staff Ms. Sheree "Nikki" Bryant, Director of Academic Programming, Council Staff