Accreditation is the process whereby a professional association or nongovernmental agency grants recognition to a school or program, acknowledging its ability to meet predetermined established criteria or standards. Accreditation includes approval of governance, curriculum, and quality of its faculty, adequacy of facilities, library, equipment, laboratories, and assessment. To assure its stature and academic excellence, a college obtains accreditation from both regional and national agencies and professional organizations and joins certain accrediting organizations.

College Accreditation Agency

Pierpont is accredited through the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).

What is the Higher Learning Commission?

The Higher Learning Commission is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of seven regional accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the United States. HLC is as an institutional accreditor, accrediting the institution as a whole. 

Pierpont’s Accreditation Status

In October 2023, Pierpont received its first full evaluation from the Higher Learning Commission as a stand-alone community college. 

Upon completion of the visit, Pierpont reached an important milestone in its transition from a university college to West Virginia’s newest stand-alone community and technical college. Its accreditation was reaffirmed, and the institution received an accreditation status of ‘Accredited—On Notice.’

This status affirms the direction of Pierpont’s progress and provides valuable insights into areas where Pierpont can further strengthen as an institution. Addressing these areas, Pierpont will ensure it remains in compliance with the Higher Learning Commission’s requirements, reinforcing its commitment to excellence and continuous improvement.

Accreditation FAQs

The designation of Notice indicates that Pierpont is in compliance with all Higher Learning Commission accreditation standards, and meets Core Components 2.C, 3.C, 4.B, 4.C, 5.A, 5.B, and 5.C with concerns. While on Notice, the institution will be provided no more than two years to fully remedy the components identified for improvement.

Absolutely yes!

Following the extensive review of a site team from the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) in October 2023, Pierpont Community and Technical College’s accreditation has been reaffirmed (meaning Pierpont is still fully accredited) and the institution has received an accreditation status of ‘Accredited – On Notice.’

Not at all! 

Pierpont’s accreditation was reaffirmed and the institution is still fully accredited. Therefore, your financial aid will continue as normal.

In most cases, other colleges and universities will continue to accept the institution’s credits in transfer or for admission to a higher degree program.

Please note: All colleges and universities define their own transfer and admission policies. Students interested in pursuing a higher degree or transferring should contact the college or university they plan to attend so that they are knowledgeable about the admission and transfer policies for that college or university.

No. Pierpont is still a fully accredited institution and any/all transcripts will reflect that status.

Pierpont remains committed to quality improvement and has taken or is taking significant strides to remedy concerns associated with the designation of Notice. These improvements include:

  • Expanding its admissions, recruitment, and advising team
  • Developing and implementing a plan for the assessment of general education
  • Expanding and developing co-curricular learning activities
  • Refining budgeting processes to create a more inclusive budgeting process
  • Undertaking a “Zero-Based” budgeting process in AY24-25/FY26
  • Developing a Strategic Financial Plan
  • Establishing a positive trend line for its composite financial index
  • Appointing an Interim Vice President of Student Services, who will lead enrollment, persistence, and retention strategies
  • Recruiting a Director of Institutional Effectiveness, who is charged with the management of institutional data toward continuous improvement and institutional accreditation
  • Finalizing and publishing a Strategic Alignment Plan that clearly articulates the vision, mission, values, and strategic goals for Pierpont across the four focal areas of People, Partners, Programs, and Performance

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of seven regional accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the United States. HLC is as an institutional accreditor, accrediting the institution as a whole.

According the the Higher Learning Commission, accreditation provides current and potential students assurance that they are receiving a quality education which will be recognized as such by potential employers or licensing boards as well as by other colleges or universities in case of student transfers or pursuit of a higher degree. Also, employer-paid tuition reimbursement programs often require that employee participants enroll in accredited institutions.

Additionally, the U.S. Department of Education recognizes accreditation as a marker to allow the institution to disperse federal (Title IV) student financial aid.

Please refer all questions related to the topic of accreditation to Provost Dr. Michael Waide at

Contact Information:
The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association (HLC)
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604


The complaint process is designed to identify substantive problems with an institution’s ability to meet the Criteria for Accreditation. HLC’s policy on complaints provides a full description of the type of complaints that HLC will review.

View the HLC website to file a complaint.

Programs with Specialized Accreditation Agencies

Dietetic Technician Program (AAS)
Accreditation Council for Education in Nutrition and Dietetics (ACEND)
120 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 2190
Chicago, IL 60606
(312) 899-0040; Ext. 5400
(3012) 899-4817 Fax

Emergency Medical Services (AAS)
Committee on Accreditation for the EMS Professional (CoAEMSP)
3301 Lakeview Parkway
Suite 111-312
Rowlett, TX 75088
(214) 703-8445
(214) 703-8992 Fax

Drafting & Design (AAS), Graphics Technology (AAS)
Association of Technology, Management and Applied Engineering (ATMAE)
1390 Eisenhower Place
Ann Arbor, MI 48108
(734) 677-0720

Food Service Management (AAS)
American Culinary Federation Education Foundation’s Accrediting Commission (ACFEFAC)
180 Center Place Way
St. Augustine, FL 32095
(800) 624-9458

Health Information Technology (AAS)
Commission on Accreditation for Health Informatics and Information Management Education (CAHIIM)
200 East Randolph Street, Suite 100
Chicago, IL 60601-5800

Medical Laboratory Technology (AAS)
National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS)
5600 N River Road, Suite 720
Rosemont, IL 60018-5119
(847) 939-3597

Physical Therapist Assistant (AAS)
Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE)
3030 Potomac Ave., Suite 100
Alexandria, Virginia 22314

Respiratory Care (AAS) (Probationary Status)
Commission on the Accreditation of Respiratory Care (CoARC) 

P.O. Box 54876
Hurst, TX 76054-4876
(817) 283-2835
(817) 354-8519 Fax

Veterinary Technology (AAS) (Probationary Status)
American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA)
1931 N. Meacham Road, Suite 100
Schaumburg, IL 60173-4361
(800) 248-2862

Licensed Practical Nursing (CAS)
West Virginia Board of Examiners for Licensed Practical Nurses (WVBELPA)
101 Dee Drive
Charleston, WV 25311
(877) 558-LPNS