History & Quick Facts


Pierpont Community & Technical College’s mission “is to provide opportunities for learning, training, and further education that enrich the lives of individuals and promote the economic growth of our service region and state”.

Pierpont shares a beautiful 120-acre campus in Fairmont, West Virginia with Fairmont State University. With a population of about 19,000, Fairmont is located about 90 miles south of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and is the seat of government for Marion County.

Pierpont is part of the state’s growing high technology corridor with a metro area of about 50,000 residents. With a Fall 2015 enrollment of more than 2,100 students, we currently offer a combination of more than 40 Associate of Arts, Associate of Applied Science, Certificate of Applied Science degree programs, Advanced Skill Sets, and Skill Sets. We also offer a variety of courses at locations throughout our 13-county service region in North Central West Virginia, including the Braxton County Center in Flatwoods, WV, the Pierpont Center in Morgantown, WV, and the Lewis County Center in Weston, WV.

Pierpont has two branch campuses: the Gaston Caperton Center in Clarksburg, WV that houses the Physical Therapist Assistant AAS program and the Robert C. Byrd National Aerospace Center in Bridgeport, WV that offers Pierpont programs in Aviation Maintenance. Through our Center for Workforce Education (CWE) in downtown Fairmont, Pierpont provides workforce training and continuing education for the service region.

Pierpont’s Timeline

1974// The Community College was established at Fairmont State College.
1989// Under the provisions of SB 420, governance for Fairmont State College and Fairmont State Community & Technical College was changed from the Board of Regents to the Board of Directors.
2000// Fairmont State Community & Technical College established a campus compact under the provisions of SB 653 and began working toward the goal of independent accreditation.
2001// Fairmont State College and Fairmont State Community & Technical College are appointed a shared Board of Governors.
2003// Fairmont State Community & Technical College assumes responsibility for providing Community College education to five of the counties formerly served by Glenville State College under the provisions of HB 2224.
2003// Fairmont State Community & Technical College hosted a site visit from the North Central Association in the spring of 2003. The college received notification of receipt of a 10 year accreditation from the North Central Association on August 8, 2003.
2004// SB 448 reclassified Blair Montgomery as President of Fairmont State Community & Technical College and established a Local Consortium District for the Community College.
2006// SB 792 renames Fairmont State Community & Technical College as Pierpont Community & Technical College and remerged it as a division of Fairmont State University (FSU).
2007// Higher Learning Commission returns for a Focused Visit to remerge the accreditation of Fairmont State University and Pierpont Community & Technical College.
2008// HB 3215 requires separation of Pierpont Community & Technical College from Fairmont State University and provides the College with a separate Board of Governors (constituted in August 2008). Pierpont is again required to attain independent accreditation from FSU.
2008// Higher Learning Commission holds a Focus Visit at Pierpont and recommends that the accreditation achieved in 2003 be reinstated for Pierpont Community & Technical College.
2010// Pierpont Community & Technical College Board of Governors selected Dr. Doreen M. Larson to serve as the second president of the institution starting in June 2010.
2014// Higher Learning Commission approves continued accreditation after March 2014 site visit, next 10 year reaffirmation visit to be scheduled 2023-2024.
2015// The Pierpont Board of Governors selects Dale Bradley, CFO and VP of Finance and Administration, as the temporary Interim President. Dale Bradley fills the vacancy created by Dr. Doreen Larson’s acceptance of the President position at Edison Community College in Piqua, Ohio.
2016// Pierpont Community & Technical College Board of Governors unanimously selected Dr. Johnny M. Moore to serve as the third president of the institution starting June 30, 2016.
2017-18// Higher Learning Commission Standard Pathways four year visit scheduled for October 30-31, 2017.